We appreciate your noting the League of Women Voters’ upcoming luncheon honoring elected women in the towns of East Hampton and Southampton in the “Round & About” section of the May 7 East Hampton Press. However, there was a significant omission that requires immediate attention.

While listing the Southampton Town honorees, the piece did not include the names of the honorees from the Town of East Hampton. They are: councilmembers Patricia Mansir and Julia Prince, town justices Catherine Cahill and Lisa R. Rana, town trustees Diane McNally, Lynn Mendelman, Kayla Talmage and Stephanie Talmage, and town assessors Jill Massa and Jeanne Nielsen.

These women, as well as Southampton Supervisor Linda A. Kabot, councilmembers Nancy S. Graboski and Anna Throne-Holst, town justices Deborah Kooperstein and Barbara Wilson, Town Clerk Sundy A. Schermeyer and Receiver of Taxes Theresa Kiernan will all be honored on June 5.

We wish to make clear that the omission of the names of the East Hampton honorees was the result of editing by the newspaper and not the result of incomplete information supplied by the league.

ANNE K. MARSHALLCAROL MELLORCo-presidentsLeague of Women Voters of the HamptonsThe league’s press release was not sent directly to the East Hampton Press editor (by e-mail at, which would have prevented the problem. The “Round & About” section covers the entire area, and is distributed, from Westhampton, Speonk and Remsenburg to Montauk. —Ed.

Facebook Comments
Previous articleSchool news
Next articleMind over matter