Fire commissioner election results


East Quogue voters elected a new fire commissioner on Tuesday and also reelected an incumbent, while those candidates running in Westhampton Beach, Flanders, Eastport and Hampton Bays cruised to victory in uncontested races.

In East Quogue, Allyn Jackson, the supervisor of the Southampton Town Parks and Recreation Department, handily defeated current Fire Chief Scott Flynn by a margin of 133-22. Mr. Jackson will assume the seat that will be vacated by fire commissioner Robert Holley.

“I’m looking forward to doing the job,” Mr. Jackson said on Wednesday. He will be sworn in on January 1, 2009, and will complete Mr. Holley’s term, which expires on December 31, 2011.

Also, firefighter Mark Gregory received 97 votes en route to winning another five-year term of office.

In Hampton Bays, incumbent fire commissioner Gerard Buckley ran opposed and received 87 votes. Mr. Buckley will begin his second five-year term on January 1.

Robert Merker will be the new face on the board of fire commissioners in the Flanders Fire District. He ran unopposed for the seat vacated by former commissioner Robert Flood. Mr. Merker collected 53 votes.

“It feels good to win, it’s a new challenge in my life,” Mr. Merker said on Wednesday.

In the Eastport Fire District, incumbent Keith Kostuk of Eastport retained his seat as fire commissioner, winning 44 votes. Mr. Kostuk ran unopposed, as well.

Dean Culver of Westhampton, a current fire commissioner in Westhampton Beach, also held onto his seat. He collected 38 votes and was not opposed.

Facebook Comments