Flanders, Riverside and Northampton community notes


Well, hello everyone and happy New Year! It is hard to believe that it is 2009. It seems like only yesterday that we were all panicking about the Y2K insanity.

Well, here we are, celebrating the start of another year, with its many obstacles that now lie before us. With all of the turmoil in the economy, and a new president being sworn in later this month, it all should make for an interesting year—to say the least. Let us hope that our new commander in chief will be able to keep his word and bring much needed change to this country during this time of unrest and turmoil.

With all of the holiday celebrations now over, it is time to turn our attention back to the community and the news happening here in our little hamlet of Flanders.

Congratulations are in order for Eva Richardson, who was recently inducted in Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society at SUNY at Plattsburgh. Eva speaks of the induction as a “great honor.” She adds: “I am happy to be recognized for my achievements, and I hope to increase my involvement on campus.”

In order to receive this honor, students must have shown exemplary character, work ethic, leadership and involvement—both on and off campus. Congratulations to you, Eva, from all of your family and friends here in Flanders.

The Flanders, Riverside and Northampton Community Association would like to wish everyone a happy and safe new year. Group members would like to remind everyone that a special meeting will be held next Thursday, January 15, to address the placement of all of Suffolk County’s homeless sex offenders in two trailers, one of which is located in Riverside, near the Suffolk County Jail.

New York State Assemblymen Marc Alessi and Fred Thiele Jr., Suffolk County Legislators Ed Romaine and Jay Schneiderman, Riverhead Town Supervisor Phil Cardinale and Southampton Town Supervisor Linda Kabot all plan to attend this important meeting. They will discuss a new state law that addresses the issue and talk about new legislation that is being worked on at the county level.

The meeting, which runs from 7 until 9 p.m., will be held in the Riverhead High School auditorium, which is located at 700 Harrison Ave in Riverhead. Please help take an active role in our children’s safety and attend this very important event.

Congratulations to the following students at Phillips Avenue Elementary School for being selected as Principal’s Award winners for the month of December: David Williams, Mario Lima, Anderson Perez and Romaine Hopkins (pre-K); Kevin Espana Morales, Nery Pantaleon, Angie Ortega, Monea Brown and Banesa Interiano (kindergarten); Shayleigh Tribuzio, Zachary Merker, Stephanie Berkeley, Dalia Aquino and Kianja Christian (first grade); Randi Colombo, Riley Southard, Dashaun Massenburg and Kayla Hoey (second grade); Irvin Robles, Tut Exum, Sergio Patalano and Raleasha Jackson (third grade); and Mauricio Ojeda, Dana Edwards, Tiara Jefferson and Jason LaGrasse (fourth grade).

The following Phillips Avenue students also deserve a big pat on the back for earning Citizenship Awards for the month of December. The recipients are: Xavier Moore, Quinn McCabe, Kanye Milton and Azharia Allen (pre-K); Camerin Strickland Forbes, Gisele Flores, Steven Hynes, Sarahi Velasquez Rodriguez and Anthony Jones (kindergarten); Bryan Rogue, Leslie Alvizures, Kurt Maas, Kevin Perez-Estrada and Carson Shepherd (first grade); Stephany Vasquez, Gionni Reddick, Jacqueline Morachel and Jayvonte Nash (second grade); Jayson Brewer, Jacqueline Viscalla, Kassidy Jordan and Lexus Gilliam (third grade); and Cody Spano, Adriana Lopez Espana, Trevon Lambert, Bella Morocho and Alexandra O’Connell (fourth grade).

Congratulations and keep up the great work, boys and girls!

Well, that is all I have for this week. If you have any news that you would like to share, please do not be shy about sharing it with me. My contact info is listed at the top of this column. Have a great week!

Facebook Comments