UPDATE: Gilbride Reelected Sag Harbor Mayor; Deyermond, O’Donnell Win Trustee Seats


By Brandon B. Quinn and Colleen Reynolds

UPDATE, 10 p.m.

Sag Harbor Village Mayor Brian Gilbride on Tuesday night narrowly clinched a third-straight two-year term as mayor by 11 votes, while Ed Deyermond, a former village mayor, and political newcomer, Ken O’Donnell, won seats as trustees, ousting incumbent Ed Gregory.

In the mayoral race, Mr. Gilbride racked up 179 votes to retain his seat, while Sandra Schroeder, a first-time contender and retired village administrator, earned 168 votes. Bruce Tait, chairman of the village’s Harbor Committee, finished third with 142 votes, and Former Mayor Pierce Hance rounded out the field in a distant fourth with 85 votes.

In the trustee race, Mr. Deyermond won 363 votes, and Mr. O’Donnell, the owner of the Mexican bar and grill La Superica, got 336 to each earn two-year terms on the Village Board.

Mr. Gregory, who ran with Mr. Gilbride on the Sag Harbor Party line, fell short in his bid for a 13th non-consecutive term with 240 votes, and Bruce Stafford, a former trustee who was voted off the board last year, finished fourth with 139 votes.

Mr. Gilbride, 65, a manager for Emil Norsic & Son, managed to hold on as mayor despite a contentious year dominated by a stalemate with the village’s police union.

Surrounded by several family members and supporters, including members of the Southampton Town Conservative Party, he grinned as he was pronounced the winner and quickly shook hands with his fellow contenders and current Village Board members, though Mr. Tait and Mr. Hance had already left the Sag Harbor Fire Department’s main firehouse on Brick Kiln Road, where voting took place.

“Listen, the people of the village spoke. We continue to move on and I’m glad this day is over,” he said with a laugh.

North HavenIn North Haven, incumbent Village Trustee Jeff Sander led all voters with 173 votes. His running mate on the North Haven Party line, village Planning Board chairman Jim Laspesa received 172 votes. Challenger Mary Whelan, who ran on the Daffodil Party ticket, received 74 votes. A single write-in vote was cast for Ken Baralo.


Polls for Sag Harbor Village races open on Tuesday at noon at the main firehouse on Brick Kiln Road, and close at 9 p.m.

Positions to be filled are mayor, with four candidates running, and village trustee, with four candidates vying for two spots.

In the mayoral race, incumbent Brian Gilbride is seeking his third straight term. He is being challenged by Bruce Tait, chairman of the village’s Harbor Committee, Pierce Hance, a former Sag Harbor Village mayor from 1993-1999, and Sandra Schroeder, a first-time political candidate.

In the trustee contest, incumbent Ed Gregory, who has served 12 non-consecutive terms on the board since 1978, is seeking to retain his seat. Former Sag Harbor Village Mayor Ed Deyermond is seeking a return to the village board as well, where he most recently served in 2009.

Also seeking election are Ken O’Donnell, the owner of La Superica and a member of the Sag Harbor Chamber of Commerce, and Bruce Stafford, a former board trustee who lost his seat last year.

In addition, North Haven is holding elections for two seats on the North Haven Village Board from noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall.

In that race, three candidates—the incumbent Jeff Sander and two first-time candidates, Arthur James Laspesa and Mary Whelan—are vying for the two spots.

Facebook Comments