DiBenedetto, Tucker Take Oaths Of Office In Westhampton Beach Village


Westhampton Beach Village Trustees Patricia DiBenedetto and Hank Tucker took their oaths of office Monday night, during the municipality’s annual organization meeting that drew just a handful of attendees.

The two trustees, both members of the Lightning Party, were reelected to two-year terms last month, and will join Trustees Charlie Palmer and Ralph Urban and Mayor Conrad Teller on the board. Mr. Tucker will begin serving his fourth term while Ms. DiBenedetto is starting her second term.

During the meeting, Mr. Teller also announced—after some prompting by village resident Dean Speir—that he had appointed Mr. Urban as the deputy mayor for the next year. The title gives him the responsibility of running meetings and carrying out various duties in the mayor’s absence. Mr. Teller appointed Mr. Tucker as deputy mayor last year.

“I think it’s a good opportunity,” Mr. Urban said on Tuesday, adding that he is retired from a long career as a music teacher in the Montauk School District, so he has plenty of free time to spare. “Any way I can help out the village—that’s the way I look at it.”

Mr. Teller said he based his decision to appoint Mr. Urban on, “intuition,” but declined to comment further.

Later in the meeting, the trustees approved the purchase of a new police department computer server at a cost of about $10,000, and about a dozen new computers for the department at a cost of about $13,000. Village Clerk-Treasurer Elizabeth Lindtvit said the State Comptroller’s office recommended those upgrades during its information technology audit earlier in the year.

The board also reappointed Gregory Minasian, who has served the village since 1985, as chairman of the Westhampton Beach Architectural Review Board. Laurette Lizak was reappointed to another five-year term on the same board, a seat she has held since 1999.

The trustees reappointed Gerard Piering as chairman of the Zoning Board of Appeals. His five-year term expires in 2016. They also reappointed John Wittschen to an additional five-year term on the ZBA.

Victor Levy, who has served on various village boards since 1983, will again serve as chairman of the Planning Board, and Pamela Sheiffer was reappointed to an additional five-year term on that board.

Facebook Comments