Six Contested Board Of Education Races In Western Southampton Town


Six of the seven school districts in the western half of Southampton Town will have contested Board of Education races on Tuesday, May 19.

In Westhampton Beach, two five-year terms and one two-year term are up for grabs. President Suzanne Mensch is seeking reelection, as is Joyce Donneson, who was appointed to fill the opening left by the death of Gordon Werner last fall.

Former Westhampton Beach High School teacher Steve Wisnoski is running for the second year in a row after losing to Jim Hulme last year. And Stacy Rubio, co-owner of Rubio Premier Motors in Westhampton, is running as well.

Board member Bryan Dean opted not to seek reelection this year.

The top two vote-getters in next month’s election will each earn five-year terms to the board. The candidate with the third highest vote total will win the shorter term and serve through June 2017. All candidates run at large.

Those casting ballots in Hampton Bays will get to vote for two people from a field that includes three candidates. That field, however, does not include current President Christopher Garvey, who is not seeking reelection. Mr. Garvey served on the board from 1997 until 2003 and was reappointed in 2008.

Warren Booth, the board’s current vice president, is seeking his third three-year term on the five-member board. Mike Dunn, president of the Concerned Citizens of Hampton Bays and co-chairman of the Hampton Bays Citizens Advisory Committee, and Elizabeth (Liz) Scully have thrown in their hats in the race this year as well.

Both seats carry three-year terms.

In East Quogue, another sitting president has opted not to seek another term of office. Kathryn Tureski, who has served four consecutive terms, has opted not to run again next month and, in turn, two individuals—Christopher Hudson and Carolyn Terry—are hoping to win the open seat.

The winner of next month’s election will serve a three-year term on the five-member board.

The race in Remsenburg-Speonk will be interesting as well, as five brand new candidates are running for two open seats on the Board of Education.

Current President Cecilia Spellman-Frey and fellow board member Kevin Federico have opted not to seek reelection to the five-member board. Looking to replace them at the dais are Kevin Toolan, Joshua Berger, Jennifer Pratt Ashley, Scott Heptig and Heather Carriero.

Both open seats are for three-year terms.

In Eastport South Manor, Board of Education President Kenneth Cooke and fellow board member Kevin Gleason will both be seeking their third three-year term on the seven-member board. Mr. Cooke and Mr. Gleason, who have both served since 2009, will be challenged by newcomer Virginia Churchin in next month’s election.

In the Riverhead School District, two of the seven board seats are up for grabs. Incumbent Susan Koukounas is seeking reelection though her counterpart, Thomas Carson, has opted not to seek another three-year term.

Four additional candidates have joined the fray, including two—Laurie Downs and Gregory Fischer—who made unsuccessful bids for the board last year. They are joined by Ann Cotten-DeGrasse and Bradford Harnig.

And In Quogue, Dr. Anael Alston’s term is up and he will be unchallenged. Dr. Alston was first elected to the board in 2012 and is seeking his second three-year term.

Facebook Comments