Springs School Board Picks New President


The Springs School Board on Monday night selected a two-year board member, Elizabeth Mendelman, to serve as its president for the 2013-14 school year. She will replace past president and longtime member Kathee Burke Gonzalez.

This marks Ms. Mendelman’s first time as president. Ms. Burke Gonzalez, who served from 2004 to 2013, opted not to seek reelection this year, instead choosing to run for East Hampton Town Board.

No surprises arose at the brief annual reorganization meeting. John Grant, a School Board member since 2009, will continue as vice president for one more year, and new members Jeffrey Miller and Adam Wilson each took the oath of office. Interim Superintendent Dominic Mucci and District Treasurer Thomas Primiano each were sworn in for second years in their respective posts. Fran Silipo will stay on for at least one more year as district clerk, and Daniel Penalver was appointed part-time claims auditor.

The board pushed back the start of its regular meeting time from 6:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. on Mondays for the upcoming year.

There was no public comment session on Monday, but several members of the public scolded the board for posting an incorrect, later start time for that evening’s meeting outside the school and failing to post the meeting time on the district’s website, www.springsschool.org, causing them to be late.

Board member Tim Frazier said the district would be more forthcoming with online information in the coming year.

Facebook Comments