Montauk Fire Chief Wins Commissioner Election


Montauk Fire Chief Richard Schoen, a former fire commissioner, will regain his old seat on January 1, having won election on Tuesday, December 10, over Dave Ryan, 102-43 in the annual fire commissioner races.

Chief Schoen, who concludes his term as chief at month’s end, said in a preelection interview that he would like to continue the district’s paid medical program, push for better preparation for a cataclysmic storm and maintain the ambulance company’s Advanced Life Support status in the face of more stringent state training requirements.

Montauk, the only contested fire commissioners’ race in East Hampton Town this year, also counted two “spoiled” ballots, according to the district.

In Springs, unchallenged incumbent Kenneth Brabant Sr. won all 19 votes cast. Mr. Brabant, who has served 20 years on the board of commissioners, is an ex-fire chief and active Springs firefighter.

In Amagansett, chairman Daniel Shields II, running unopposed, collected 79 votes to earn another term. The ex-fire chief works in excavating. One write-in vote was cast for Randy Hoffman, and one vote was voided, the district said.

Terms begin on January 1 and run five years.

Facebook Comments