Langsdorf Elected To Hampton Bays Fire Commissioner Board


In the only contested fire commissioner race in western Southampton Town, newcomer Christopher Langsdorf defeated incumbent Hampton Bays Fire Commissioner Gerard Buckley II, 329 to 207, on Tuesday evening.

Mr. Langsdorf is a 25-year member of the Hampton Bays Fire Department and Mr. Buckley, who will leave office at the end of the year, served in the post for the past decade. Mr. Langsdorf was elected to a five-year term.

Christine Kenny, the fire district’s treasurer, was reelected to a three-year term on Tuesday. She did not face an opponent.

Former East Quogue Fire Department Chief Aaron Sacks was elected as the district’s newest fire commissioner, receiving 56 votes in another uncontested race. Four hand-written ballots were thrown out because they were not filled out properly, according to a district official. Mr. Sacks, who won a five-year term, will fill the seat that will be vacated by Mark Gregory next year.

East Quogue Fire District Treasurer Nancy Knotoff also won reelection in the other uncontested race.

In Westhampton Beach, Fire District Commissioner Dean Culver was reelected to his third full five-year term. He received 42 votes.

Keith Kostuk received 43 votes in his uncontested bid for reelection in the Eastport Fire District. This will be his third five-year term.

Results from the Flanders Fire District election were unavailable Wednesday morning. Rob Merker ran unopposed for a second five-year term.

Facebook Comments